Classical Music Online: Vivaldi

Antonio Vivaldi
  1. Spring mvt 1 Allegro Antonio Vivaldi 3:35
  2. Spring mvt 2 Largo Antonio Vivaldi 2:52
  3. Spring mvt 3 Allegro Antonio Vivaldi 4:14
  4. Summer mvt 1 Allegro non molto Antonio Vivaldi 5:02
  5. Summer mvt 3 Presto Antonio Vivaldi 2:39
  6. Autumn mvt 2 Adagio molto Antonio Vivaldi 2:33
  7. Autumn mvt 3 Allegro Antonio Vivaldi 3:21
  8. Winter mvt 1 Allegro non molto Antonio Vivaldi 3:29
  9. Winter mvt 2 Largo Antonio Vivaldi 2:12
  10. Winter mvt 3 Allegro 3:28

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi (4 March 1678 – 28 July 1741) was an Italian Baroque composer, virtuoso violinist, teacher and cleric. Born in Venice, he is recognized as one of the greatest Baroque composers, and his influence during his lifetime was widespread across Europe. He composed many instrumental concertos, for the violin and a variety of other instruments, as well as sacred choral works and more than forty operas. His best-known work is a series of violin concertos known as the Four Seasons.

Many of his compositions were written for the all-female music ensemble of the Ospedale della Pietà, a home for abandoned children where Vivaldi (who had been ordained as a Catholic priest) was employed from 1703 to 1715 and from 1723 to 1740. Vivaldi also had some success with expensive stagings of his operas in Venice, Mantua and Vienna. After meeting the Emperor Charles VI, Vivaldi moved to Vienna, hoping for preferment. However, the Emperor died soon after Vivaldi’s arrival, and Vivaldi himself died, in poverty, less than a year later.