Paintings of the Museums: The National Gallery

The National Gallery Collection contains over 2,300 works, including many famous works, such as van Eyck’s Arnolfini Portrait, Velázquez’s Rokeby Venus, Turner’s Fighting Temeraire and Van Gogh’s Sunflowers.

All major traditions of Western European painting are represented from the artists of late medieval and Renaissance Italy to the French Impressionists.
13th- to 15th-century paintings: Duccio, Uccello, van Eyck, Lippi, Mantegna, Botticelli, Dürer, Memling, Bellini.
16th-century paintings: Leonardo da Vinci, Cranach, Michelangelo, Raphael, Holbein, Bruegel, Bronzino, Titian, Veronese.
17th-century paintings: Caravaggio, Rubens, Poussin, Van Dyck, Velázquez, Claude, Rembrandt, Cuyp, Vermeer.
18th- to early 20th-century paintings: Canaletto, Goya, Turner, Constable, Ingres, Degas, Cézanne, Monet, Van Gogh.

The National Gallery – Collection Overview:


The Rokeby Venus – Diego Velázquez
The Arnolfini Portrait – Jan van Eyck
The Baptism of Christ – Piero della Francesca
Sunflowers – Vincent van Gogh
Venus, Cupid, Folly and Time – Bronzino
The Virgin of the Rocks – Leonardo da Vinci
Christ in the House of Martha and Mary – Diego Velázquez
Saint Margaret, Dressed as a Shepherdress – Francisco de Zurbarán
The Ambassadors – Hans Holbein the Younger
The Tailor – Giovanni Battista Moroni
Mr and Mrs Andrews – Thomas Gainsborough
The Fighting Temeraire – Joseph Mallord William Turner
The Shrimp Girl – William Hogarth
A Young Woman Standing at a Virginal – Johannes Vermeer
Venus and Mars – Sandro Botticelli
Madonna of the Pinks – Raphael
Belshazzar´s Feast – Rembrandt
Equestrian Portrait of Charles I – Anthony van Dyck
Samson and Delilah – Peter Paul Rubens
Bacchus and Ariadne – Titian