Paintings of the Museums: Louvre


The Department of Paintings reflects the encyclopedic scope of the Louvre, encompassing every European school from the 13th century to 1848. The collection is overseen by twelve curators, who are among the most renowned experts in their field.

Louvre: Department of Paintings –


The Mona Lisa – Leonardo da Vinci
Liberty leading the People – Eugène Delacroix
The Wedding at Cana – Paolo Veronese
The Annunciation – Rogier Van Der Weyden
Portrait of an old man and his grandson – Domenico Ghirlandaio
The Lacemaker – Johannes Vermeer
Madonna of Chancellor Rolin – Jan Van Eyck
Madonna of the Rocks – Leonardo da Vinci
Balthazar Castiglione – Raphael
The Valpinçon Bather – Jean Auguste Dominique Ingres
The Fortune Teller – Caravaggio
King Charles I of England – Anthony Van Dyck
Oath of the Horatii – Jacques-Louis David
Self portrait – Albrecht Dürer
Bathsheba at Her Bath – Rembrandt
Infanta Maria Margareta – Diego Velázquez
Ship of Fools – Hieronymus Bosch
The Raft of the Medusa – Théodore Géricault
Portrait of Louis XIV – Hyacinthe Rigaud
The Clubfoot – Jusepe de Ribera